Halliwell
|
|
|
|
HALLIWELL, a village, a township, two chapelries, and a sub-district, in Deane parish, and Bolton district, Lancashire. The village stands 2 miles WNW of Bolton town and r. station; is a pleasant place; and has a postoffice under Bolton. The township comprises 2,320 acres. Real property, £23, 939; of which £320 are in mines, and £84 in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 1,959; in 1861, 1,953. Houses, 1,132. The increase of pop. arose from the erection of cotton mills. The property is much subdivided. The manor belonged formerly to the Radcliffes, the Bartons, the Fauconbergs, and the Byroms; and belongs now to the Ainsworths. Smithill's hall is the seat of Peter Ainsworth, Esq.; stands beside a lovely glen; and has, near the dining room, a natural discoloration resembling a human footprint, fabled to have been impressed, in 1555, by George Marsh, the martyr. The township is named from an ancient holy well; it has fine views; and it contains great bleach works and fourteen large cotton mills. The two chapelries are St. Paul and St. Peter; the former constituted in 1848, the latter in 1840, and both made ecclesiastically parochial in 1860. Pop. in 1861, 2,712 and 3,241. Houses, 527 and 605. Pop. of St. Peter in 1865, , 350. The livings are vicarages in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £180 and £200. Patron of St. Paul, R. H. Ainsworth, Esq.; of St. Peter, Trustees. The church of St. Paul was built in 1848; and that of St. Peter was built in 1838, rebuilt in 1844, is in the early English style, and has a tower. There are a donative chapel connected with Smithill's hall, three Wesleyan chapels, three working men's institutes, national schools, and a structure called the DeaneMill school, built at a cost of upwards of £1,000, and including free school, lecture room, and library. The subdistrict includes also the township of Heaton. Acres, 3,950. Pop., 6,908. Houses, 1,312.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Bolton library.Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Halliwell.Church History
Church Records
- Barrow Bridge Mission, Barrow Bridge Road, Church of England, Barrow Bridge
- St Andrew, Tattersall Avenue, Church of England
- St Luke, Chorley Old Road, Church of England
- St Margaret, Lonsdale Road, Church of England
- St Paul, Halliwell Road, Church of England
- St Peter, Church Road, Church of England
- St Thomas the Apostle, Eskrick Street, Church of England
- Chorley Old Rd/Avondale St, Congregational
- Beverley Rd, Independant Methodist
- Independent, Barrow Bridge
- Harvey St, Primitive Methodist
- St Joseph, Horace St, Roman Catholic
- Chorley Old Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Halliwell area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Halliwell area is Bolton.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Halliwell which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Halliwell to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Halliwell was a township in the parish of Deane.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
History
A description of Halliwell in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Halliwell and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD705108 (Lat/Lon: 53.592934, -2.447180), Halliwell which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Halliwell was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

