Halsall

Select map to view larger area
HALSALL, a village, a township, a parish, and a subdistrict, in Ormskirk district, Lancashire. The village stands near the Leeds and Liverpool canal, 3 miles NW of Ormskirk r. station; is a scattered place; and has a post office under Ormskirk. The township includes also the hamlets of Barton and Haskeyne. Acres, 6, 996. Real property, 10,661. Pop., 1,204. Houses, 196. The parish contains likewise the townships of DownHolland and Melling, and the chapelries of Maghull and Lydiate. Acres, 1,658. Real property, 36,268. Pop. in 1851, 1, 510; in 1861, 1, 672. Houses, 803. The property is much subdivided. The manor belongs to Lady Scarisbrick. Good building stone is found; and a kind of moss exists which has been used for candles. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Chester. Value, 3,500.* Patron, H. H. Blundell, Esq. The church consists of nave, three aisles, and chancel, with tower and spire; contains a piscina, an effigies of a priest, and several mural monuments; and is in good condition. The p. curacies of Maghull, Melling, and Lydiate, are separate benefices. There are a national school for girls, an endowed school for boys, with 26, and other charities with 200. The sub-district comprises Halsall and Down Holland Townships. Acres, 10,470. Pop., 952. Houses, 329.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Ormskirk and Skelmersdale libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Halsall.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Halsall area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Halsall area is West Lancashire

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Halsall which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Halsall to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 the parish of Halsall contained the townships of Halsall, Downholland, Lydiate, Maghull and Melling.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Halsall and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD370102 (Lat/Lon: 53.584580, -2.953138), Halsall which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Halsall was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.