Hambleton

Select map to view larger area
HAMBLETON, a township-chapelry in Kirkham parish, Lancashire; on the river Wyre, 3 miles NE of Poulton r. station, and 7½ WSW of Garstang. Post town, Great Eccleston, under Garstang. Acres, 1,603; of which 280 are water. Real property, 1,493. Pop., 366. Houses, 88. The property is subdivided. The manor belongs to J. B. Weld, Esq. A fine bridge over the Wyre here was erected in 1864. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 102. Patron, the Vicar of Kirkham. The church was rebuilt in 1709. There is a national school, with 8 from endowment.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Fleetwood library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Hambleton.

Church History

Church Records

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Hambleton area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures in an area centred on OS grid reference SD371425 (Lat/Lon: 53.874679, -2.956814) which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Hambleton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Hambleton was a township in the parish of Kirkham.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Hambleton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD371425 (Lat/Lon: 53.874679, -2.956814), which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Hambleton was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.