Hapton
|
|
|
|
HAPTON, a township in Whalley parish, Lancashire; on the East Lancashire railway and on the Liverpool and Leeds canal, 3 miles WSW of Burnley. It has a station on the railway. Acres, 3,570. Real property, £8,634; of which £4,520 are in mines, and £300 in quarries. Pop. in l851, 550; in 1861, 1,003. Houses, 177. The increase of pop. arose from the extension of cotton spinning. There are also chemical works. Old seats here belonged to the Haberghams and the Shuttleworths; and the chief property now belongs to Charles Townley, Esq. There is an endowed school; and the schoolroom is used for religions worship.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Burnley library.Cemeteries
- St Margaret, Manchester Rd, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Hapton.Church History
Church Records
- St Margaret, Manchester Rd, Church of England
- Manchester Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Whitefield St, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Hapton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Hapton area is Burnley and Pendle.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Hapton which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Hapton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Hapton was a township in the parish of Whalley.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
Maps
View maps of Hapton and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD792318 (Lat/Lon: 53.782105, -2.317153), Hapton which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Hapton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

