Harpurhey

Select map to view larger area
Harpurhey, township, Manchester par., SE. Lancashire, on river Irk, within parl. bor. of Manchester, 193 ac., pop. 4810; here is the Queen's Park (30 ac.), a public recreation ground of Manchester.

John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Manchester Central library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Harpurhey.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Harpurhey area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Harpurhey area is Manchester.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Harpurhey which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Harpurhey to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Harpurhey was a township in the parish of Manchester.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

History

A description of Harpurhey in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Harpurhey and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD859015 (Lat/Lon: 53.509985, -2.214089), Harpurhey which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Harpurhey was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.