Harwood
|
|
|
|
HARWOOD, a village, a township, and a chapelry in Bolton-le-Moors parish, Lancashire. The village stands 3 miles NE of Bolton r. station, and 4 W of Bury. The township comprises 1,100 acres. Post town, Bolton. Real property, £5,556; of which £800 are in mines, and £400 in quarries. Pop., 2,055. Houses, 435. The property is much subdivided. There are a cotton mill and a and was constituted in 1845. Pop., 1,525. Houses, 326. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £90.* Patrons, Trustees. The church is a recent structure, in the early English style; and has a small tower. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists, and a national school.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Bolton library.Cemeteries
- Christ's Church, Stitch-mi-Lane, Church of England
- Longsight, Wesleyan Methodist
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Harwood.Church History
Church Records
- Christ's Church, Stitch-mi-Lane, Church of England
- St Brendan, Longsight, Roman Catholic
- Longsight, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Harwood area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Harwood area is Bolton.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Harwood which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Harwood to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Harwood was a township in the parish of Bolton.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
History
A description of Harwood in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Harwood and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD749118 (Lat/Lon: 53.602152, -2.380785), Harwood which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic (Click + on map to view it)
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Harwood was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

