Haslingden

Select map to view larger area
HASLINGDEN, a town, a township-chapelry, a subdistrict, and a district in Lancashire. The town stands adjacent to the East Lancashire railway, near Rossendale forest, 4 miles S by E of Accrington, and 16 N by W of Manchester. The chief employments are in cotton factories, sheeting and fulling mills, iron foundries, size works, a brewery, and stone quarries. Several mansions and handsome villas are in the neighbourhood. Pop. of the town, in 1851, 6,154; in 1861, 6,929. Houses, 1,295. The chapelry is in Whalley parish, and comprises 4,420 acres. Real property, 25,479; of which 575 are in gas works, and 1,007 in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 9,030; in 1861, 10,109. Houses, 1,935. The manor belongs to the Duke of Buccleuch. The landed property is chiefly divided among five. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 300. * Patrons, Hulme's Trustees. The sub-district contains also the township of Henheads. Acres, 4,780. Pop., 10,320. Houses, 1,975.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) more ...

Archives and libraries

Haslingden Library,
Higher Deardengate,
Haslingden
Rossendale
BB4 5LQ

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Haslingden.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Haslingden area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Haslingden area is Hyndburn and Rossendale.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Haslingden which are provided by:

Directories

David Greenhalgh has extracted entries from Pigot's 1828 Directory.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Haslingden to another place.

Genealogy

Haslingden Roots are a voluntary group of individuals who set up to help people research their family history of the area.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Haslingden was a chapelry and township in the parish of Whalley.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Haslingden and places within its boundaries.

A map of Haslingden around 1890.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD785235 (Lat/Lon: 53.707475, -2.327196), Haslingden which are provided by:

Poor Houses, Poor Law

The Workhouse site has an interesting description of Haslingden workhouse.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Haslingden was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.