Haughton

Select map to view larger area
HAUGHTON, a village and a township in Manchester parish, Lancashire. The village stands adjacent to Denton, on the river Tame, and on the Stalybridge and Stockport railway, at the boundary with Cheshire, 3 miles NNE of Stockport; and shares with Denton village an ancient felt hat manufacture, and an important present trade. The township comprises 1,130 acres. Real property, £10,848; of which £2,489 are in mines, and £20 in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 3,042; in 1861, 3,371. Houses, 687. Coal mining is largely carried on.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Click pictures to enlarge.

Two Trees Lane

Two Trees Lane

  Two Trees Lane

Two Trees Lane

 

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Stalybridge library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Haughton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Haughton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Haughton area is Tameside.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Haughton which are provided by:

Directories

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Haughton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Haughton was a township in the parish of Manchester.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

History

A description of Haughton in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Haughton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ933955 (Lat/Lon: 53.456201, -2.102375), Haughton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Haughton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

The Manchester & Lancashire FHS.

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.