Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Stalybridge library.Cemeteries
- St Mary the Virgin, Haughton Green Road, Church of England
- Two Trees Lane, Wesleyan Methodist, Haughton Green
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Haughton.Church History
Church Records
- St Anne, St Anne's Rd, Church of England
- St Mary the Virgin, Haughton Green Road, Church of England
- Henry St, Primitive Methodist, Haughton Green
- St John Fisher, Mancunian Road, Roman Catholic, Haughton Green
- Two Trees Lane, United Methodist Free Church, Haughton Green
- Two Trees Lane, Wesleyan Methodist, Haughton Green
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Haughton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Haughton area is Tameside.Directories
Names extracted from the Manchester & Salford Trades Directory, 1832.Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Haughton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Haughton was a township in the parish of Manchester.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.




