Heap
|
|
|
|
HEAP, a village, a township, and a parochial chapelry in Bury parish, Lancashire. The village stands near the river Roche and the Bury and Rochdale railway, 2 miles E of Bury. The township includes also the town of Heywood, with its post office and r. station; and is nearly divided into the chapelries of Heap and Heywood. Acres, 2,934. Real property, £56,545; of which £200 are in mines, £80 in quarries, and £1,200 in gas works. Pop. in 1851, 16,048; in 1861, 17,353. Houses, 3,535. Pop., exclusive of Heywood town, in 1861, 4,529. Houses, 1,905. There are large paper mills, cotton mills, and wool mills, manufactories of power looms and boilers, works of iron and brass founding, two churches, eight dissenting chapels, a mechanics' institution, and four national schools, mostly in Heywood. The chapelry was constituted in 1840. Pop. in 1861, 7,633. Houses, 1,605. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £300. Patron, the Bishop of Manchester. The church is modern.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Heap.Church History
Church Records
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Heap Bridge area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Heap area is Rochdale.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Heap Bridge which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Heap to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Heap was a township in the parish of Bury.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
History
A description of Heap in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Heap Bridge and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD824104 (Lat/Lon: 53.589875, -2.267368), Heap Bridge which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic (Click + on map to view it)
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Heap was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

