Heapey
|
|
|
|
HEAPEY, a township-chapelry in Leyland parish, Lancashire; adjacent to the Leeds and Liverpool canal, 2 miles NE of Chorley r. station. Post town, Chorley. Acres, 1,456. Real property, £2,267. Pop. in 1851, 495; in 1861, 396. Houses, 81. The decrease of pop. was caused by want of employment. The property is much subdivided. The manor belongs to W. S. Cari., Esq. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £150. * Patron, the Vicar of Leyland. The church was built in 1750, and improved in 1829; and was intended in 1865 to be enlarged. There is a national school.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Chorley library.Cemeteries
- St Barnabas, Chapel Lane, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Heapey.Church History
Church Records
- St Barnabas, Chapel Lane, Church of England
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Heapey area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Heapey area is Chorley.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Heapey which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Heapey to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Heapey was a township in the parish of Leyland.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
Maps
View maps of Heapey and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD602204 (Lat/Lon: 53.678535, -2.604021), Heapey which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Heapey was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

