Heaton Norris
|
|
|
|
Heaton Norris, town and township, Manchester nar., SE. Lancashire, on river Mersey, 5½ miles SE. of Manchester - township, 2116 ac., pop. 20,347 (14,550 in bor. of Stockport); town, pop. 5797; P.O., T.O.; is connected with Stockport by several bridges and a railway viaduct; has extensive cotton factories, bleaching works and iron foundries.John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)
Cemeteries
- St Thomas the Apostle, Wellington Rd, Church of England, Heaton Chapel
- St John the Baptist, St. John's Road, Church of England, Heaton Mersey
- St Paul, Heaton Moor Rd, Church of England, Heaton Moor
- Christ Church, Wellington Rd North, Church of England
- Church of the Upper Room, Didsbury Rd, Congregational, Heaton Mersey
- Hanover, Lancashire Hill, Congregational
- Tiviot Dale, Wesleyan Methodist
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Heaton Norris.Church History
Church Records
- Calvary Chapel, Didsbury Rd, Calvary Chapel, Norris Bank
- Dodge Hill/Roman Rd, Christadelphian
- Heaton Chapel Christian Church, Wellington Road North, Christian Church, Heaton Chapel
- The Heatons, Heaton Moor Rd, Christian Fellowship, Heaton Chapel
- Old Road, Christian Spiritualist
- St Thomas the Apostle, Wellington Rd, Church of England, Heaton Chapel
- St John the Baptist, St. John's Road, Church of England, Heaton Mersey
- St Paul, Heaton Moor Rd, Church of England, Heaton Moor
- All Saints, Manchester Rd, Church of England
- Christ Church, Wellington Rd North, Church of England
- St Martin, Didsbury Rd, Church of England, Norris Bank
- Heaton Moor Rd, Congregational, Heaton Chapel
- Church of the Upper Room, Didsbury Rd, Congregational, Heaton Mersey
- Hanover, Lancashire Hill, Congregational
- Wycliffe, Wellington Rd North, Congregational
- Church of the Virgin St Mary & St Mina, Heaton Moor Rd, Coptic Orthodox Patriarchate, Heaton Chapel
- Green Lane, Evangelical Church, Heaton Moor
- Woodlands Rd, Exclusive Brethren, Heaton Mersey
- Old Rd, Jewish
- Moorfield Grove, Plymouth Brethren, Heaton Moor
- Bethesda, Manchester Rd, Primitive Methodist
- St Winifred, Mauldeth Road, Roman Catholic, Heaton Mersey
- St Mary, Roman Road, Roman Catholic
- Heaton Norris Community Church, Short Street, Salvation Army
- King's Drive, Unitarian, Heaton Moor
- The Heatons, Heaton Moor Rd, United Reformed Church, Heaton Chapel
- Didsbury Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Heaton Mersey
- Heaton Moor Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Heaton Moor
- Tiviot Dale, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Heaton Norris area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Heaton Norris area is Stockport.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Heaton Norris which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Heaton Norris to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Heaton Norris was a township in the parish of Manchester.History
A description of Heaton Norris in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Heaton Norris and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ865912 (Lat/Lon: 53.417418, -2.204596), Heaton Norris which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Heaton Norris was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

