Heaton with Oxcliffe

Select map to view larger area
HEATON, a township and a sub-district in Lancaster district, Lancashire. The township is in Overton chapelry, Lancaster parish; lies on the river Lune, 2½ miles SW of Lancaster; includes the hamlet of Oxcliffe; and bears the name of Heaton-with-Oxcliffe. Acres, 1,977. Real property, 2,609. Pop., 165. Houses, 22. -- The sub-district includes three other townships of Lancaster parish, and all Heysham parish. Acres, 12,865. Pop., 3,455. Houses, 670.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster and Morecambe libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Heaton with Oxcliffe.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Heaton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Heaton with Oxcliffe area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Heaton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Heaton with Oxcliffe to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Heaton with Oxcliffe was a township in the parish of Lancaster.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Heaton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD443603 (Lat/Lon: 54.035663, -2.851962), Heaton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Heaton with Oxcliffe was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.