Hesketh with Becconsall

Select map to view larger area
HESKETH, a village and a parish in Ormskirk district, Lancashire. The village stands on the coast of the Ribble estuary, near the influx of the Douglas river, 4 miles NW of Croston r. station, and 8 SW of Preston. The parish contains also the seaport village of Hesketh Bank, and the village of becconsall. Post town. Croston, under Preston. Acres, 4,735; of which 1,685 are water. Real property, 4,499. Pop. in 1851, 692; in 1861, 804. Houses, 153. The increase of pop. arose from the erection of cottages, and from the presence of labourers in reclaiming marsh land. The property is divided among a few. The manor belongs to Sir Thomas G. Hesketh, Bart. A large tract, between Hesketh and Cockerham, was overwhelmed by the sea in 1720. The Ribble estuary here was once 2½ miles wide, and fordable at low water; but during the five years ending in 1865, a vast tract of valuable marsh land was reclaimed from it by deepening and narrowing the river's bed, and by forming an embankment several miles long. The living is a rectory, united with the p. curacy of Becconsall, in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 300. Patron, Sir T. G. Hesketh, Bart. The church is a brick edifice, and consists of nave, aisle, and chancel. There is a Primitive Methodist chapel.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Ormskirk and Skelmersdale libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Hesketh with Becconsall.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Hesketh with Becconsall area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Hesketh with Becconsall area is West Lancashire

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Hesketh with Becconsall which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Hesketh with Becconsall to another place.

Maps

View maps of Hesketh with Becconsall and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD446232 (Lat/Lon: 53.702276, -2.840669), Hesketh with Becconsall which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Hesketh with Becconsall was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.