Heskin

Select map to view larger area
HESKIN, a township in Eccleston parish, Lancashire; 4½ miles SW of Chorley. Acres, 1,235. Real property, 2,753; of which 830 are in mines, and 10 in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 358; in 1861, 439. Houses, 74. The increase of pop. arose from the extension of coal mining.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Chorley library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Heskin.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Heskin Green area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Heskin area is Chorley.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Heskin Green which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Heskin to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Heskin was a township in the parish of Eccleston.

Maps

View maps of Heskin Green and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD532153 (Lat/Lon: 53.632117, -2.709217), Heskin Green which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Heskin was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.