Heyhouses

Select map to view larger area
HEYHOUSES, a township and a chapelry in Whalley parish, Lancashire. The township lies in Pendle forest, adjacent to Sabden village, 4½ miles SE by S of Clitheroe r. station; and was at one time extra-parochial. Acres, 320. Real property, 460. Pop., 128. Houses, 28. The chapelry also includes part of Sabden, which has a post office under Blackburn; and it was constituted in 1849. Pop., 1,616. Houses, 339. The manor belongs to the Duke of Buccleuch. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 150.* Patron, L. G. N. Starkie, Esq. The church was built in 1842; is in the Norman style; and consists of nave and chancel, with tower and spire. There is a national school, with an endowment of 10 a year.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Clitheroe library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Heyhouses.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Heyhouses area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Heyhouses area is Burnley and Pendle.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Heyhouses which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Heyhouses to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Heyhouses was a township in the parish of Whalley.

Maps

View maps of Heyhouses and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD782377 (Lat/Lon: 53.835093, -2.332749), Heyhouses which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Heyhouses was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.