Heyhouses
|
|
|
|
HEYHOUSES, a township and a chapelry in Whalley parish, Lancashire. The township lies in Pendle forest, adjacent to Sabden village, 4½ miles SE by S of Clitheroe r. station; and was at one time extra-parochial. Acres, 320. Real property, £460. Pop., 128. Houses, 28. The chapelry also includes part of Sabden, which has a post office under Blackburn; and it was constituted in 1849. Pop., 1,616. Houses, 339. The manor belongs to the Duke of Buccleuch. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £150.* Patron, L. G. N. Starkie, Esq. The church was built in 1842; is in the Norman style; and consists of nave and chancel, with tower and spire. There is a national school, with an endowment of £10 a year.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Clitheroe library.Cemeteries
- Clitheroe Rd, Baptist, Sabden
- St Nicholas (originally St Simon and St Jude), Wesley Street, Church of England, Sabden
- St Mary, Whalley Road, Roman Catholic, Sabden
- Wesley Street, Wesleyan Methodist, Sabden
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Heyhouses.Church History
Church Records
- Clitheroe Rd, Baptist, Sabden
- St Nicholas (originally St Simon and St Jude), Wesley Street, Church of England, Sabden
- St Mary, Whalley Road, Roman Catholic, Sabden
- Wesley Street, Wesleyan Methodist, Sabden
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Heyhouses area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

