Heywood

Select map to view larger area
HEYWOOD, a town and a chapelry in Heap township, Bury parish, and a sub-district in Bury district, Lancashire. The town stands on the Rochdale canal, and on the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway, near the river Roch, 3 miles E of Bury; was, toward the close of last century, a mere village, inhabited chiefly by hand loom fustian weavers; has acquired importance from the working of coal in the adjoining townships of Bamford and Hopwood, and from the enterprise and skill of local capitalists; and is now a populous, busy, thriving seat of various manufactures. Pop. of the town in 1851, 12,194; in 1861, 12,824. Houses, 2,630. The chapelry is less extensive than the town, and was constituted in 1840. Pop., 9,231. Houses, 1,843. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 400. Patron, the Rector of Bury. See Heap. The sub-district contains the chief part of Heap township, an uninhabited portion of Bury township, part of Pilsworth township, and the whole of Hopwood township, the last two in Middleton parish. Pop., 17,591. Houses, 3,582.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) more...

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Heywood library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Heywood.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Heywood area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Heywood area is Rochdale.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Heywood which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Heywood to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Heywood was a chapelry in the township of Heap in the parish of Bury.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

History

A description of Heywood in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Heywood and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD842104 (Lat/Lon: 53.589933, -2.240175), Heywood which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Heywood was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.