Hindley

Select map to view larger area
HINDLEY, a town, a township, two chapelries, and a sub-district in Wigan parish and district, Lancashire. The town stands adjacent to the Wigan and Bolton railway, 2½ miles ESE of Wigan; is a seat of cotton manufacture; and has a post office under Wigan, a railway. station with telegraph, two churches, five Independent chapels, a Roman Catholic chapel, three national schools, an endowed grammar school, charities 85, and a fair on the first Thursday of Aug. There are extensive cotton mills, and a large and prosperous co-operative store. All Saints church was built in 1766, on the site of a previous edifice; is a plain brick structure; consists of nave, aisles, and chancel, with a belfry; and contains a font and mural monuments. St. Peter's church was built in 1864; is a handsome edifice in the pointed style; and consists of nave, aisles, and chancel, with porches and a lofty tower and spire. The township is returned statistically as conterminate with the town; but includes the hamlets of Platt-Green or Platt-Bridge and Hindley Green, which have stations on the Wigan and Tyldesley railway 1½ and 3¾ miles from Wigan, and the hamlet of Hindley Common, which is 4 miles from Wigan, and has a post office under Wigan. Acres of the township, 2,522. Real property, 32,550; of which 14,130 are in mines. Pop. in 1851, 7,023; in 1861, 8,477. Houses, 1,630. The property is subdivided. The chief landowners are the Earl of Ellesmere, Lord Kingsdown, Sir H. de Trafford, Messrs. Hargreaves, and J. Walmsley, Esq. Coal is extensively worked. A "burning well" is here, emitting inflammable gas, produced by the decomposition of mineral substances in the substrata. The chapelries are All Saints and St. Peter; the former parochial, the latter of recent constitution, and both p. curacies in the diocese of Chester. Value of A. S., 300;* Patron, the Rector of Wigan. Value and Patron of St. P., not reported. The sub-district contains also the townships of Ince-in-Mackerfield and Abram. Acres, 6,801. Pop. in 1851, 11,661; in 1861, 17,654. Houses, 3,336.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Wigan library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Hindley.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Hindley area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

The registers of the parish church, All Saints, have been published by the Lancashire Parish Register Society as follows.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Hindley area is Wigan and Leigh.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Hindley which are provided by:

Directories

"HINDLEY is a chapelry in the parish of Wigan, from which town it is distant three miles, in which is a rare phenomenon, called by the inhabitants the 'Burning Well,' which attracts many visitors. This well is similar to the one at Petoa Mala, near Fierenzota, in Italy, with this difference, that the flame of the Italian spring is perpetual, except in heavy rains, and consists of sulphuric gas, while the inflammable principle of the one at Hindley is the decomposition of water acting upon ores and sulphate of iron. The number of inhabitants in this chapelry, in 1821, was 3,757."

Royal National and Commercial Directory and Topography of the county of Lancashire - Pigot & Co. 1828

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Hindley to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Hindley was a township in the parish of Wigan.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Hindley and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD616043 (Lat/Lon: 53.533934, -2.580838), Hindley which are provided by:

Poor Houses, Poor law etc.

Poor Law records held at Wigan Archives.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Hindley was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.