Hoghton

Select map to view larger area
HOGHTON, a village, a township, and a chapelry, in Leyland parish, Lancashire. The village stands on the river Darwen, adjacent to the East Lancashire railway, 5 miles W by S of Blackburn; and has a station on the railway, and a post office under Preston. The township comprises 2,227 acres. Real property, 4,928; of which 200 are in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 1,373; in 1861, 1,201. Houses, 249. The decrease of pop. was caused by the removal of families to manufacturing towns. The manor belongs to Sir Henry de Hoghton, Bart.; and has belonged to his family since the time of Stephen. Hoghton Tower was once the seat of the Hoghton family; stands on a rock, commanding a magnificent view; consists of two courts, with three square towers, all now in a ruinous condition; was garrisoned during the civil wars of Charles I., and partly blown up accidentally, but afterwards repaired; and is now in the keeping of a custodian. James I. was entertained here during three days of 1617; issued then the order for the "Book of Sports" and is said to have been so much pleased with a fine loin of beef, served up to table, that he knighted it as "Sir Loin", and thus gave rise to the name by which the joint has ever since been called. Alum mines were then in operation, near the foot of the hill; and they continued, many years afterwards, to be productive; but they have gone into disuse. There are now, in the township, two small cotton manufactories. The chapelry was constituted in 1842, and is less extensive than the township. Pop., 1,100. Houses, 231. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, about 150. * Patron, the Vicar of Leyland. The church was built in 1833; it presents no architectural features. There are a Wesleyan chapel and a school, the latter unendowed, but supported by Sir H. de Hoghton.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Chorley library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Hoghton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Hoghton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Hoghton area is Chorley.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Hoghton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Houghton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Hoghton was a township in the parish of Leyland.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Hoghton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD613264 (Lat/Lon: 53.732545, -2.588120), Hoghton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Hoghton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.