Holcombe

Select map to view larger area
HOLCOMBE, a village, a chapelry, and a sub-district in Bury district, Lancashire. The village stands near the river Irwell and the Bury and Haslingden railway, 1¼ mile SW of Ramsbottom r. station, and 4½ N by W of Bury. The chapelry is in Tottington-Lower-End township, Bury parish; and was recently made ecclesiastically parochial. Post town, Ramsbottom, under Manchester. Pop., 2,511. A tower or column, to the memory of Sir Robert Peel, stands on Holcombe hill. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 175.* Patron, the Rector of Bury. The church is in the early decorated English style; and consists of nave, N transept, and chancel, with tower and fine spire. The sub-district consists mainly of part of Tottington-Lower-End township, but includes a pendicle of Walmersley-cum-Shuttleworth township. Pop., 6,645. Houses, 1,276.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Bury library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Holcombe.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Holcombe area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Holcombe area is Bury.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Holcombe which are provided by:

Directories

David Greenhalgh has extracted entries from Pigot's 1828 Directory.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Holcombe to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Holcombe was a chapelry in the township of Tottington Lower End in the parish of Bury.

Maps

View maps of Holcombe and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD780166 (Lat/Lon: 53.645436, -2.334280), Holcombe which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Holcombe was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.