Holleth

Select map to view larger area
HOLLETH, a township in Garstang and Cockerham parishes, Lancashire; on the Preston and Lancaster canal, 4¼ miles N of Garstang. Acres, 354. Real property, 459. Pop., 30. Houses, 5.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Holleth.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Holleth area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Holleth area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Holleth which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Holleth to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Holleth was a township in the parish of Garstang.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Holleth and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD479521 (Lat/Lon: 53.962347, -2.795594), Holleth which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Holleth was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.