Holme in Cliviger

Select map to view larger area
HOLME, a chapelry, with a village, in Whalley parish, Lancashire; on the Rose-Grove and Todmorden branch of the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway, near the sources of the rivers Irwell and East and West Calder, at the E verge of the county, 4 miles SE by S of Burnley. It has a station on the railway; and its posttown is Burnley. It is conterminate with the township of Cliviger, and was constituted in 1842. Acres, 6,160. Real property, 14,950; of which 7,870 are in mines, and 179 in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 1,441; in 1861, 1,770. Houses, 346. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 101. Patron, T. H. Whitaker, Esq. The church was rebuilt in 1788; contains tablets of the Whitaker, Hargreaves, Ormerod, and Edmondson families; and has a vault of the Whitakers, in which lie the remains of the Lancashire historian, Dr. Whitaker. There are Wesleyan chapels at Mereclough and Cornholme, and a national school near the church. The Cornholme Wesleyan chapel is an edifice in the pointed style, built in 1853.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Holme in Cliviger.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Holme in Cliviger area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

The registers of the parish church, St John the Divine (formerly St John the Evangelist), have been published by the Lancashire Parish Register Society as follows.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Holme in Cliviger area is Burnley and Pendle.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Holme in Cliviger which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Holme in Cliviger to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Holme was a chapelry in the township of Cliviger in the parish of Whalley.

Maps

View maps of Holme in Cliviger and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD877284 (Lat/Lon: 53.751817, -2.188018), Holme in Cliviger which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Holme in Cliviger was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.