Hoole

Select map to view larger area
HOOLE, a village, two townships, and a parish in Preston district, Lancashire. The village is Much Hoole; stands near the river Douglas, 2¾ miles NW of Croston r. station, and 7 SW of Preston; and has a post office under Preston. The townships are Much Hoole and Little Hoole; the latter N of the former, and on the estnary of the Ribble. Acres of Much Hoole, 1,701. Real property, 3,511. Pop., 708. Houses, 136. The chief landowners are Lord Lilford and the Marquis de Rothwell. Acres of Little Hoole, 1,222; of which 70 are water. Real property, 2,533. Pop., 424. Houses, 72. A large cotton factory is here. The parish consists of the two townships. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 280. Patron, T. B. Addison, Esq. The church was originally a chapel of ease to Croston; is a plain edifice, with a low tower; and was enlarged in 1864. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists, a national school, and some small charities.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Leyland library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Hoole.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Hoole area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Hoole area is Preston and South Ribble

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Hoole which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Hoole to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 the parish of Hoole contained the townships of Much Hoole and Little Hoole. Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Hoole and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD470229 (Lat/Lon: 53.699829, -2.804267), Hoole which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Hoole was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.