Hopwood
|
|
|
|
HOPWOOD, a township in Middleton parish, Lancashire; on the Manchester and Leeds railway, and the Rochdale canal, 1 mile N of Middleton. It includes the villages of Birch and Gooden. Acres, 2,043. Real property, £10,822; of which £2,200 are in mines. Pop. in 1851, 1,575; in 1861, 2,281. Houses, 450. The increase of pop. was caused by the erection of cotton mills. Hopwood Hall is a mansion of the 14th century, situated in a well wooded park; belonged, at its origin, to the Hopwoods; passed, early in the 18th century, to Edward Gregge, Esq.; and belongs now to Captain E. J. Gregge Hopwood. Many cotton mills, and an extensive iron foundry are at Gooden; and a national school is at Birch.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Rochdale library.Cemeteries
- St Mary, Langley Lane, Church of England, Birch in Hopwood
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Hopwood.Church History
Church Records
- St Mary, Langley Lane, Church of England, Birch in Hopwood
- St John The Evangelist, Manchester Rd, Church of England
- Free Methodist
- Primitive Methodist
- Isherwood St, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Hopwood area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Hopwood area is Rochdale.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Hopwood which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Hopwood to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Hopwood was a township in the parish of Middleton.History
A description of Hopwood in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Hopwood and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD863097 (Lat/Lon: 53.583701, -2.208419), Hopwood which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic (Click + on map to view it)
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Hopwood was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

