Horwich

Select map to view larger area
HORWICH, a town, a parochial chapelry, and a subdistrict in Bolton district, Lancashire. The town stands 1 mile N of a station on the Bolton and Preston railway, and 5 WNW of Bolton. The railway station serves for it and for Blackrod, and has a telegraph. The town occupies the site of a Roman settlement; was a seat of cotton manufacture so early as the time of Henry VIII.; carries on now cotton spinning, bleaching, and dyeing; also conducts trade in connection with stone quarries, fire brick, tile, and terracotta works in the chapelry, and with collieries there and in the neighbourhood; and has a post office? under Bolton, a church, three dissenting chapels, a national school, and charities 392. The church was rebuilt in 1831, at a cost of 6, 000; is in the pointed style; comprises nave and two aisles, with lofty tower; and contains a monument, by Westmacott, to Joseph Ridgway, Esq. Two of the dissenting chapels are for Independents; and one of these is a large and handsome edifice of 1855. The national school is a spacious structure of 1832. The chapelry contains also the village of Wilderswood, and is in the parish of Dean. Acres, 3, 230. Real property, 15, 880; of which 170 are in mines, and 82 in quarries. Pop., 3, 471. Houses, 682. The Stoner family and the Rev. Henry Wright are the chief landowners. The reservoir of the Liverpool water works, a large sheet of water, is in the W. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 334. * Patron, the Vicar of Dean. The sub-district contains also a township of Bolton-le-Moors. Acres, 4, 656. Pop., 4, 051. Houses, 803.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Bolton library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Horwich.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Horwich area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Horwich area is Bolton.

Description and Travel

Pictures of Horwich.

You can see pictures of Horwich which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Horwich to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Horwich was a township in the parish of Deane.

History

A description of Horwich in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Horwich and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD644115 (Lat/Lon: 53.598846, -2.539418), Horwich which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Horwich was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.