Horwich
|
|
|
|
HORWICH, a town, a parochial chapelry, and a subdistrict in Bolton district, Lancashire. The town stands 1 mile N of a station on the Bolton and Preston railway, and 5 WNW of Bolton. The railway station serves for it and for Blackrod, and has a telegraph. The town occupies the site of a Roman settlement; was a seat of cotton manufacture so early as the time of Henry VIII.; carries on now cotton spinning, bleaching, and dyeing; also conducts trade in connection with stone quarries, fire brick, tile, and terracotta works in the chapelry, and with collieries there and in the neighbourhood; and has a post office? under Bolton, a church, three dissenting chapels, a national school, and charities £392. The church was rebuilt in 1831, at a cost of £6, 000; is in the pointed style; comprises nave and two aisles, with lofty tower; and contains a monument, by Westmacott, to Joseph Ridgway, Esq. Two of the dissenting chapels are for Independents; and one of these is a large and handsome edifice of 1855. The national school is a spacious structure of 1832. The chapelry contains also the village of Wilderswood, and is in the parish of Dean. Acres, 3, 230. Real property, £15, 880; of which £170 are in mines, and £82 in quarries. Pop., 3, 471. Houses, 682. The Stoner family and the Rev. Henry Wright are the chief landowners. The reservoir of the Liverpool water works, a large sheet of water, is in the W. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £334. * Patron, the Vicar of Dean. The sub-district contains also a township of Bolton-le-Moors. Acres, 4, 656. Pop., 4, 051. Houses, 803.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Bolton library.Cemeteries
- Ridgmont Cemetery, Chorley Old Road, Cemetery
- Holy Trinity, Church Street, Church of England
- Lee Chapel, Lee Lane, Independent
- New Chapel, New Chapel Lane, Independent
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Horwich.Church History
Church Records
- Aenon, Chapel St, Baptist
- Holy Trinity, Church Street, Church of England
- St Catherine, Richmond Street, Church of England
- St Elizabeth, Cedar Avenue, Church of England
- Lee Chapel, Lee Lane, Independent
- New Chapel, New Chapel Lane, Independent
- Lee Lane, Independent Methodist
- Lee Lane, Independent Methodist
- Bottom o' th' Moor, Primitive Methodist
- Mason Memorial, Lee Lane, near Hampson Street, Primitive Methodist
- St Anthony, Chorley New Road, Roman Catholic
- St Mary, Chorley New Road, Roman Catholic
- Cedar Ave, Unitarian
- Church St, Unitarian Free Church
- St John, Victoria Rd, United Methodist Free Church
- Chapel St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Church St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Fall Birch, Chorley New Road / Crompton road, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Horwich area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

