Hothersall

Select map to view larger area
Hothersall, township, Ribchester par., N. Lancashire, on river Ribble, 6½ miles NE. of Preston, 3,079 ac., pop. 132.

John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Clitheroe library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Hothersall.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Hothersall area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Hothersall area is Preston and South Ribble

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Hothersall which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Hothersall to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Hothersall was a township in the parish of Ribchester.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

History

The history of Hothersall Hall.

Maps

View maps of Hothersall and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD629347 (Lat/Lon: 53.807260, -2.564868), Hothersall which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Hothersall was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.