Houghton, Middleton and Arbury

Select map to view larger area
HOUGHTON, a hamlet and a township in Winwick parish, Lancashire. The hamlet lies 2½ miles NNE of Warrington. The township includes also Middleton and Arbury, and comprises 839 acres. Real property, 1,745. Pop., 253. Houses, 45.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Houghton Middleton and Arbury.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Houghton Green area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Houghton Middleton and Arbury area is Warrington.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Houghton Green which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Houghton Middleton and Arbury to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Houghton Middleton and Arbury was a township in the parish of Winwick.

Maps

View maps of Houghton Green and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ626918 (Lat/Lon: 53.421654, -2.564259), Houghton Green which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Houghton Middleton and Arbury was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.