Hide
Houghton, Middleton and Arbury
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"HOUGHTON, a hamlet and a township in Winwick parish, Lancashire. The hamlet lies 2½ miles NNE of Warrington. The township includes also Middleton and Arbury, and comprises 839 acres. Real property, £1,745. Pop., 253. Houses, 45."
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Hide
Details about the census records, and indexes for Houghton Middleton and Arbury.
The Register Office covering the Houghton Middleton and Arbury area is Warrington.
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"HOUGHTON, a township in the parish of Winwick, hundred of West Derby, county Lancaster, 2 miles N. of Warrington. It includes the hamlet of Middleton.
MIDDLETON, a hamlet in the parish of Winwick, hundred of West Derby, county Lancaster, 4 miles N.E. of Warrington. It is joined to Houghton-on-Arbury to form a township."
"ARBURY, a township in the parish of Winwick, hundred of West Derby, in the county palatine of Lancaster, 3 miles to the N. of Warrington. It is a joint township with Houghton and Middleton. The Liverpool and Manchester railway passes near it."
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Houghton, Middleton and Arbury to another place.
In 1835 Houghton Middleton and Arbury was a township in the parish of Winwick.
View maps of Houghton and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ617922 (Lat/Lon: 53.425615, -2.577474), Houghton, Middleton and Arbury which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Houghton Middleton and Arbury was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.