Howick

Select map to view larger area
HOWICK, a township in Penwortham parish, Lancashire; near the river Ribble, 2½ miles SW of Preston. Acres, 879; of which 130 are water. Real property, 1,210. Pop., 93. Houses, 19. Howick Hall, a neat edifice, embosomed in wood, is the seat of T. Norris, Esq.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Leyland library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Howick.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Howick Cross area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Howick area is Preston and South Ribble

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Howick Cross which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Howick to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Howick was a township in the parish of Penwortham.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Howick and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD504276 (Lat/Lon: 53.742405, -2.753527), Howick Cross which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Howick was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.