Hulme
|
|
|
|
HULME, a township, eight parochial chapelries, and a sub-district, in Manchester parish and Chorlton district, Lancashire. The township lies on the river Irwell and on the Manchester and Altrincham railway, at the termination of the Bridgewater canal, 1¼ mile SW of the centre of Manchester; and is all within Manchester borough, and under the Manchester police. Acres, 440. Real property, £240,913; of which £77,916 are in the canal. Pop. in 1851, 53,482; in 1861, 68,433. Houses, 13,487. The increase of pop. arose from participation in the prosperity and extension of Manchester.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) more ...
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Manchester Central library.Cemeteries
- Christ Church, Queen St, Bible Christian
- St George, Chester Road, Church of England
- St Wilfrid, Bedford Street, Roman Catholic
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Hulme.Church History
Church Records
- Thirlmere St, Baptist
- Wilmott Street, Baptist
- York Street, Baptist
- Christ Church, Queen St, Bible Christian
- Church of the Ascension, Royce Road, Church of England
- Holy Trinity, Stretford Road, Church of England
- St Gabriel, Erskine Street, Church of England
- St George, Chester Road, Church of England
- St John the Baptist, Renshaw St, Church of England
- St Mark, City Road, Church of England
- St Mary, Upper Moss Lane, Church of England
- St Michael, Lavender Street, Church of England
- St Paul, Stretford Road, Church of England
- St Philip, Chester Street, Church of England
- St Stephen, City Road, Church of England
- Chorlton Rd, Congregational
- City Road, Congregational
- Tatton Street, Congregational
- Mission, Russell St, Congregational
- Zion, Stretford Road, Congregational
- Union Hall, Stretford Road, Evangelical Church
- Sharon, Chorlton Rd, Full Gospel Church
- Jacksons Lane, Independent
- Renshaw St, International Pentecostal City Mission Church
- Kingdom Hall, Chorlton Rd, Jehovah's Witness
- Denton Street, Latter Day Saints
- Chapman Street, Methodist New Connexion
- Jacksons Lane, Methodist New Connexion
- Ebenezer, Boston Street, Methodist New Connexion
- Tatton Street, New Hope Fellowship Church
- Emmanuel, Brennan Close, Pentecostal
- Upper Medlock St, Presbyterian
- Chester Road, Primitive Methodist
- Upper Moss Lane, Primitive Methodist
- Loreto College chapel, Bold St, Roman Catholic
- St Wilfrid, Bedford Street, Roman Catholic
- Renshaw St, Unitarian
- Elvington Street, United Methodist
- Chapman Street, United Methodist Free Church
- Gt Jackson Street, United Methodist Free Church
- Upper Medlock St, Welsh Baptist
- Chorlton Rd, Welsh Congregational
- Great Jackson St, Welsh Congregational
- Boundary Lane, Wesleyan Holiness Church
- City Road, Wesleyan Methodist
- George Street, Wesleyan Methodist
- Radnor Street, Wesleyan Methodist
- Mission, Cedar Street, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Hulme area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Hulme area is Manchester.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Hulme which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Hulme to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Hulme was a township in the parish of Manchester.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
History
A description of Hulme in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Hulme and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ833965 (Lat/Lon: 53.464965, -2.253026), Hulme which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Hulme was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

