Huncoat

Select map to view larger area
HUNCOAT, a village and a township in Whalley parish, Lancashire. The village stands on a risingground, adjacent to the East Lancashire railway, 1½ mile NE by E of Accrington; and has a station on the railway, and chapels for Baptists and Wesleyans. The township comprises 960 acres. Real property, 2,336; of which 50 are in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 598; in 1861, 839. Houses, 154. The increase of pop. arose from the extension of cotton spinning. The Accrington cemetery and the reservoir of the Accrington waterworks are on the border.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Accrington library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Huncoat.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Huncoat area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Huncoat area is Hyndburn and Rossendale.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Huncoat which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Huncoat to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Huncoat was a township in the parish of Whalley.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Huncoat and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD776306 (Lat/Lon: 53.771252, -2.341347), Huncoat which are provided by:

Military History

Men and women of Accrington and District who gave their lives for their country during the Great War of 1914-1919.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Huncoat was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.