Hutton

Select map to view larger area
HUTTON, a township with a village in Penwortham parish, Lancashire; near the river Ribble, 3½ miles SW by W of Preston. Acres, 2,683; of which 760 are water. Real property, 3,780. Pop., 461. Houses, 85. Hutton Hall is the seat of L. Rawstorne, Esq. Bricks and tiles are made. There is a free grammar school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Leyland library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Hutton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Hutton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Hutton area is Preston and South Ribble

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Hutton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Hutton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Hutton was a township in the parish of Penwortham.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Hutton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD498266 (Lat/Lon: 53.733360, -2.762461), Hutton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Hutton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.