Huyton with Roby

Select map to view larger area
HUYTON, a village, a township, a parish, and a subdistrict, in Prescot district, Lancashire. The village stands near the Manchester and Liverpool railway, 5½ miles E of Liverpool; contains, with its neighbourhood, many good houses; and has a station on the railway, and a post office under Liverpool. The township comprises 1,630 acres. Real property, 10,593; of which 369 are in quarries. Pop. m 1851, 1,295; in 1861, 1,612. Houses, 283. The parish contains also the townships of Knowsley, Roby, and Tarbock. Acres, 9,807. Real property, 32,942; of which 1,367 are in mines, and 699 in quarries. Pop. in 1861, 4,054. Houses, 724. Much of the land, with Knowsley Hall, belongs to the Earl of Derby. Tarbock is the property of the Earl of Sefton. The Hazels is the seat of Sir Thomas B. Berch, Bart. Stone is quarried; and about 200 acres are peat moss. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Chester value, 690.* Patron, the Earl of Derby. The church is ancient; was recently restored; and has two good memorial windows, and an ancient carved oak screen. The p. curacies of Knowsley and Roby are separate benefices. There are chapels for Independents and Roman Catholics, national schools for Huyton and Knowsley, and charities 40. The Independent chapel is a recent and handsome edifice, in the pointed style. The subdistrict contains also Thingwall hamlet. Pop., 4,094. Houses, 732.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Knowsley library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Huyton with Roby.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Huyton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Huyton area is Knowsley.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Huyton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Huyton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 the parish of Huyton contained the townships of Huyton with Roby, Croxteth Park, Knowsley and Tarbock.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

History

Some information about the history of Huyton, and some information about the history of Roby.

Maps

View maps of Huyton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ442911 (Lat/Lon: 53.413733, -2.840986), Huyton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Huyton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.