Ightenhill Park

Select map to view larger area
IGHTENHILL-PARK, a township in Whalley parish, Lancashire; on the river Calder, 2 miles NW of Burnley. Acres, 752. Real property, 3,188; of which 1,957 are in mines, and 70 in quarries. Pop., 161. Houses, 35. The manor belongs to the Duke of Bucclench.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Burnley library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Ightenhill Park.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ightenhill Park area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Ightenhill Park area is Burnley and Pendle.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Ightenhill Park which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Ightenhill Park to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Ightenhill Park was a township in the parish of Whalley.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Ightenhill Park and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD824339 (Lat/Lon: 53.801098, -2.268710), Ightenhill Park which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Ightenhill Park was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.