Ince Blundell

Select map to view larger area
INCE-BLUNDELL, a village and a township in Sefton parish, Lancashire. The village stands near the river Alt and the Liverpool and Southport railway, 9 miles NNW of Liverpool; and has a very ancient cross, and a Roman Catholic chapel. The township comprises 2,258 acres. Real property, 5,022. Pop., 572. Houses, 91. Most of the land belongs to Thomas W. Blundell, Esq., and part to the Earl of Sefton. InceBlundell Hall, the seat of Mr. Blundell, is a splendid mansion, in a beautiful park; and has attached to it a building modelled exactly after the Pantheon at Rome, but one-third less in size, and containing a rich collection of statuary, paintings, sarcophagi, vases, bronzes, and other objects of interest.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Ince Blundell.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ince Blundell area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Ince Blundell area is Sephton South.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Ince Blundell which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Ince Blundell to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Ince Blundell was a township in the parish of Sefton.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Ince Blundell and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD322034 (Lat/Lon: 53.522868, -3.024156), Ince Blundell which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Ince Blundell was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.