Ince in Makerfield

Select map to view larger area
INCE-IN-MAKERFIELD, a township and a chapelry in Wigan parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the Leeds and Liverpool canal, the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway, and the London and Northwestern railway, 1¼ mile SW of Wigan; and has a station on the L. and Y. railway, and a post office under Wigan, both of the name of Ince. Acres, 2,314. Real property, 69,829; of which 56,920 are in mines, and 30 in the canal. Pop. in 1851, 3,670; in 1861, 8,266. Houses, 1,533. The increase of pop. arose mainly from the extension of mining and manufacturing operations. A fine cannel coal is found; an excellent common coal is very largely worked; and there are extensive iron works, some cotton mills, and chemical works. Ince Hall, formerly the seat of the Gerard family, is a curious, half timbered, ancient structure. The cemetery of Ince, comprising 4 acres, and a cemetery of Wigan, comprising 18 acres, are within the township. The chapelry is nearly conterminate with the township, and was constituted in 1862. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Chester. Value, 300. Patrons, Simeon's Trustees. The church was built in 1864, at a cost of 6,000. There are three national schools; two of them built in 1866.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Wigan library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Ince in Makerfield.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ince in Makerfield area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Ince in Makerfield area is Wigan and Leigh.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Ince in Makerfield which are provided by:

Directories

INCE is a township in the parish of Wigan, adjoining to that town upon the east. The manor of Ince anciently belonged to a family of that name, and came into the possession of the Gerards as early as 1259. The present owner of the manor house is Capt. John Walmsley, of Bath, whose father purchased it from a descendant of the Gerards. In 1821 the township of Ince contained nearly 1,400 inhabitants.

Pigot's Royal National and Commercial Directory and Topography of the county of Lancashire (1828)

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Ince in Makerfield to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Ince in Makerfield was a township in the parish of Wigan.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Ince in Makerfield and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD589046 (Lat/Lon: 53.536425, -2.621611), Ince in Makerfield which are provided by:

Poor Houses, Poor law etc.

Poor Law records held at Wigan Archives.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Ince in Makerfield was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.