Inskip with Sowerby
|
|
|
|
INSKIP, a township and a chapelry in St. Michael-on-Wyre parish, Lancashire. The township bears the name of Inskip-with-Sowerby; lies 4 miles WSW of Brock r. station, and 9 NW of Preston; and has a postal letter box under Preston. Acres, 2,888. Real property, £3,748. Pop., 663. Houses, 129. The manor belongs to the Earl of Derby. The chapelry is larger than the township, and was constituted in 1850. Pop., 780. Houses, 158. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £105. * Patron, the Vicar of St. Michael-on-Wyre. The church is a neat edifice, of nave and chancel, with a belfry. There are a Baptist chapel, a national school, and some small charities.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Garstang library.Cemeteries
- Preston Road, Crossmoor, Baptist
- St Peter, Preston Road, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Inskip.Church History
Church Records
- Preston Road, Crossmoor, Baptist
- St Peter, Preston Road, Church of England
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Inskip area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Inskip area is Lancaster.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Inskip which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Inskip to another place.Genealogy
The is a one-name study being undertaken for those with a surname of Inskip.Historical Geography
In 1835 Inskip with Sowerby was a township in the parish of St. Michaels.Maps
View maps of Inskip and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD463379 (Lat/Lon: 53.834567, -2.817483), Inskip which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic (Click + on map to view it)
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Inskip was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

