Inskip with Sowerby
|
|
|
|
INSKIP, a township and a chapelry in St. Michael-on-Wyre parish, Lancashire. The township bears the name of Inskip-with-Sowerby; lies 4 miles WSW of Brock r. station, and 9 NW of Preston; and has a postal letter box under Preston. Acres, 2,888. Real property, £3,748. Pop., 663. Houses, 129. The manor belongs to the Earl of Derby. The chapelry is larger than the township, and was constituted in 1850. Pop., 780. Houses, 158. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £105. * Patron, the Vicar of St. Michael-on-Wyre. The church is a neat edifice, of nave and chancel, with a belfry. There are a Baptist chapel, a national school, and some small charities.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Garstang library.Cemeteries
- Preston Road, Crossmoor, Baptist
- St Peter, Preston Road, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Inskip.Church History
Church Records
- Preston Road, Crossmoor, Baptist
- St Peter, Preston Road, Church of England
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Inskip area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

