Jump to navigation
Downtime: The Genuki web service will be unavailable on Tues 24 Apr from 10:00 BST for approximately two hours whilst some software updates are installed.
If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.
Click on map to view parish boundaries in detail.
IREBY, a township in Thornton-in-Lonsdale parish, Lancashire; on the Ingleton railway, adjacent to Yorkshire, 4 miles SE of Kirkby-Lonsdale. Acres, 1,810. Real property, £1,042. Pop., 113. Houses, 20.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Ireby.
The Register Office covering the Ireby area is Lancaster.
You can see pictures of Ireby which are provided by:
Ask for a calculation of the distance from Ireby to another place.
Click here for a list of nearby places.
In 1835 Ireby was a Lancashire township in the parish of Thornton in Lonsdale in the West Riding of Yorkshire.
Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
You can see the
administrative areas in which Ireby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Ireby and places within its boundaries.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD655755 (Lat/Lon: 54.174121, -2.530011), Ireby which are provided by:
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Ireby was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.
You can also see
Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map.
This facility is being developed, and is awaiting
societies to enter information about the places they cover.