Kearsley
|
|
|
|
KERSLEY, or KEARSLEY, a village and a township in Deane parish, Lancashire. The village stands adjacent to the Manchester and Bolton railway, near the Bolton canal, 4 miles SE of Bolton; and is a large place. The township comprises 900 acres. Real property, £28,809; of which £17,655 are in mines. Pop. in 1851, 4,236; in 1861, 5,003. Houses, 994. The increase of pop. arose from mining operations. There are extensive coal mines, and varions manufacturing establishments. A building, to serve as a school and as a temporary place of worship, was erected on Kersley-moor in 1863; and a church was then in contemplation, with the view of forming part or all of the township into a separate chapelry.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Bolton library.Cemeteries
- St Stephen, Manchester Rd, Church of England, Kearsley Moor
- Bolton Rd, New Jerusalem
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Kearsley.Church History
Church Records
- St Stephen, Manchester Rd, Church of England, Kearsley Moor
- Ford St, Congregational, Stoneclough
- Bolton Rd, New Jerusalem
- St John Fisher, Manchester Road, Roman Catholic
- Kearsley Mount, Manchester Road, Wesleyan Methodist
- Ringley Chapel, Market St, Wesleyan Methodist, Stoneclough
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Kearsley area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Kearsley area is Bolton.Description and Travel
Some pictures and historical information.You can see pictures of Kearsley which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Kearsley to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Kearsley was a township in the parish of Deane.History
A description of Kearsley in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Kearsley and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD756051 (Lat/Lon: 53.541964, -2.369681), Kearsley which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Kearsley was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

