Kenyon

Select map to view larger area
KENYON, a township in Winwick parish, Lancashire; on the Liverpool and Manchester railway, at the junction of the Bolton and Leigh railway, 2½ miles E by N of Newton-in-Mackerfield. It has a station at the r. junction, and a post office under Manchester: and it gives the title of baron to the family of Kenyon. Acres, 1,597. Real property, 2,419. Pop., 274. Houses, 55. Bricks are made.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Kenyon.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Kenyon area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Kenyon area is Wigan & Leigh.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Kenyon which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Kenyon to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Kenyon was a township in the parish of Winwick.

Maps

View maps of Kenyon and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ630956 (Lat/Lon: 53.455837, -2.558688), Kenyon which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Kenyon was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.