Kirkby
|
|
|
|
KIRKBY, a township-chapelry in Walton-on-the-Hill parish, Lancashire; on the Liverpool and Bury railway, 7½ miles NNE of Liverpool. It has a station with telegraph on the railway, and a post office under Prescot. Acres, 3,920. Real property, £7,421. Pop., 1,415. Houses, 245. The manor, with most of the land, belongs to the Earl of Sefton; and has belonged to his family since the time of William II. An extensive tract, called Kirkby Moss, lies in the E, and extends beyond the chapelry toward Windle. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Chester. Value, £250.* Patron, the Earl of Sefton. The church was rebuilt in 1766, and contains a Norman font. There are a national school, and charities £13.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Knowsley library.Cemeteries
- St Chad, Old Hall Lane, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Kirkby.Church History
Church Records
- Bewley Drive, Baptist
- Westvale, Brethren
- Old Rough Lane, Christian Fellowship
- St Chad, Old Hall Lane, Church of England
- St Mark, Brook Hey Drive, Church of England
- St Mark, Brook Hey Drive, Church of England, Northwood
- St Martin, Peatwood Avenue, Church of England, Southdene
- St Andrew, Highfield, Church of England, Tower Hill
- Broad Lane, Lifegate
- Southdene, Broad Lane, Methodist
- All Saints, Roman Catholic
- Holy Angels, Sidney Powell Avenue, Roman Catholic
- Ss Peter and Paul, Apostles Way, Roman Catholic
- St Joseph the Worker, Bewley Drive, Roman Catholic
- St Laurence, Lydbury Crescent, Roman Catholic
- St Marie, Kennelwood Avenue, Roman Catholic
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Kirkby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Kirkby area is Knowsley.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Kirkby which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Kirkby to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Kirkby was a township in the parish of Walton on the Hill.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
History
Some information about the history of Kirkby.Maps
View maps of Kirkby and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ411988 (Lat/Lon: 53.482600, -2.889064), Kirkby which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Kirkby was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

