Kirkby Ireleth

Select map to view larger area
KIRKBY-IRELETH, a township and a parish in Ulverston district, Lancashire. The township lies on the Duddon estuary, and on the Furness railway, 4½ miles NW of Ulverston; has a station, of the name of Kirkby, on the railway; is divided, for local purposes, into the sections of Middle Quarter, Low Quarter, Heathwaite, and Woodlands; and contains the hamlets of Beckside, Chapel, Cross-Beck, Gill-Beck, Beanthwaite, Sandside, Soutergate, and Grisebeck, the last of which has a Post office under Ulverston. Acres, 9,010. Real property, 11,844; of which 5,600 are in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 1,748; in 1861, 1,666. Houses, 332. The manor, with most of the land, belongs to the Duke of Devonshire. Kirkby-Hall was long the seat of the Kirkby family; contains some curious ancient decorations; and is now a farm house. Quarries of excellent dark blue roofing slate are on Kirkby-Moor, in Middle-Quarter; extend in a series along a hill; give constant employment to about 350 men; and send their produce to all parts of the kingdom. A large proportion of the township is moor and mountain. Many families are engaged in cockle fishing in the Duddon. The parish contains also the township of West Broughton, and that of Dunnerdale-with-Seathwaite. Acres, 25,740. Real property, 20,729. Pop. in 1951, 3,366; in 1861, 3,138. Houses, 628. The property, except in K..I. township, is much subdivided. The manor of West Broughton belonged, for several centuries till 1487, to the Broughton family; and that of Seathwaite belongs to J. J. Rawlinson, Esq. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Carlisle. Value, 140. Patrons, the Dean and Chapter of York. The church stands at Beckside; is ancient, but good; consists of nave, N aisle, and chancel, with a tower; and contains ancient monuments of the Kirkby family. The p. curacies of Woodlands, Broughton-in-Furness, and Seathwaite are separate benefices. There are two parochial schools, and charities 88.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Kirkby Ireleth.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Kirkby Ireleth area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Kirkby Ireleth area is Ulverston.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Kirkby Ireleth which are provided by:

Directories

Kirkby Ireleth parish from Mannix & Co., History, Topography and Directory of Westmorland, 1851.

Residents in 1882 found in Mannex's directory of Furness and Cartmel.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Kirkby Ireleth to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 the parish of Kirkby Ireleth contained the townships of Kirkby Ireleth, Broughton West, Dunnerdale & Seathwaite and Angerton.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

History

The history of Kirkby Ireleth as described in Mannex's directory of Furness and Cartmel, 1882.

Maps

View maps of Kirkby Ireleth and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD233822 (Lat/Lon: 54.229752, -3.178112), Kirkby Ireleth which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Kirkby Ireleth was in the peculiar of the Dean of the Chapter of York whose records are deposited at the Borthwick Institute. A list of the probate records at York which relate specifically to the ancient parish of Kirkby Ireleth (including Broughton-in-Furness and Seathwaite) is available at Cumbria Record Office, Barrow.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.