Kirkham

Select map to view larger area
KIRKHAM, a small town, a township, and a sub-district, in Fylde district, and a parish partly also in Preston and Garstang districts, Lancashire. The town stands near the Preston and Wyre railway, 3 miles N of Naze Point on the Ribble estuary, and 8 WNW of Preston; has been regarded as the capital of the Fylde country; comprises several well built streets; has a good supply of water, and fair sanitary arrangements under a local board of health; is a seat of petty sessions and county courts; and has a post office under Preston, a railway station, a magistrates' office, a church, Independent and Wesleyan chapels, a Roman Catholic chapel, a reading room and library, a free grammar school, a girls' charity school, a national school, a workhouse, and some charities. The church succeeded a Norman one, which was given by Roger de Poitiers to Shrewsbury Abbey, and by Edward I. to Vale-Royal abbey; comprises a nave of 1822, a tower and spire of 1844, and a chancel of 1853, together with a N transept; and is convenient and spacious. The Roman Catholic chapel is at the Willows, ½ a mile from the town; was built in 1845, after designs by Pugin; is in the early English style; and consists of nave, aisles, chancel, and porch, with tower and octagonal spire. The grammar school was founded in 1658; affords both an English and a classical education; and has 596 a year from endowment, and two exhibitions of 60 a year to Cambridge. The workhouse is that of the Fylde district; has attached to it large garden ground; and, at the census of 1861, had 110 inmates. Fairs are held on 4 and 5 Feb., 28 and 29 April, and 18 and 19 Oct.; and there are flax mills in the town, and cotton mills in the adjoining township of Medlar-with-Wesham. The town and the township are regarded as conterminate. Acres, 840. Real property, 7,450; of which 162 are in gas works. Pop. in 1851, 2,799; in 1861, 3,380. Houses, 616. The sub-district contains also the townships of Freckleton, Warton, Bryning-with-Kellamergh, Ribby-with-Wrea, Westby-with-Plumpton, Weeton-with-Preese, Greenalgh-with-Thistleton, Cliftonwith-Salwick, Newton-with-Scales, Medlar-with-Wesham, Little Eccleston-with-Larbreck, Treals, Roseacre, and Wharles, and Elswick. Acres, 31,464. Pop. in 1851, 8,464; in 1861, 9,141. Houses, 1,740. The parish contains all the sub-district, except Elswick township; and contains also the townships of Whittingham, Goosnargh-with-Newsham, Great and Little Singleton, and the chapelry of Hambleton. Acres, 48,530. Real property, 73,737. Pop. in 1851, 10,926; in 1861, 11,445. Houses, 2,191. The living is a vicarage in the diocese o Manchester. Value, 1,080.* Patron, Christ Church, Oxford The p. curacies of Goosnargh, Great Singleton, Hambleton, Lund, Ribby-with-Wrea, Treales, Weeton, Whitechapel, and Warton-with-Freckleton, are separate benefices.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Kirkham Library,
Station Road,
Kirkham
Preston
PR4 2HD

Additional Local Studies information is held at St. Annes Library.

Bibliography

The following books contain useful information about the history of Kirkham and the surrounding area.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Kirkham.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Kirkham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

St John the Evangelist, The Willows (Roman Catholic)
The LFH&HS have published marriages 1837-1995, baptisms 1855-1970 and burials 1839-1993.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Kirkham area is Blackpool & Fylde.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Kirkham which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Kirkham to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 the parish of Kirkham contained the townships of Kirkham Hambleton, Singleton, Larbreck with Little Eccleston, Greenhalgh, Weeton with Preese, Medlar with Wesham, Treales, Roseacre and Wharles, Westby with Plumpton, Ribby with Wrea, Bryning with Kellamergh, Warton, Freckleton, Newton with Scales, Clifton with Salwick, Goosnargh and Whittingham.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Kirkham and places within its boundaries.

A modern map showing Kirkham in relation to other places in the Fylde.

A map of Kirkham east and west around 1890.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD425321 (Lat/Lon: 53.782034, -2.874134), Kirkham which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Kirkham was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.