Kirkmanshulme
|
|
|
|
Kirkmanshulme, Hamlet of, detached part of Newton township, Manchester par., SE. Lancashire, within parliamentary limits of Manchester.John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Manchester central library.Cemeteries
- St John, St John's Rd, Church of England, Longsight
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Kirkmanshulme.Church History
Church Records
- Slade Lane, Baptist, Longsight
- Crowcroft Rd, Bethshan Tabernacle, Longsight
- St Agnes, Slade Lane, Church of England, Longsight
- St Clement, Dillon Street, Church of England, Longsight
- St Cyprian, Stanley Grove, Church of England, Longsight
- St John, St John's Rd, Church of England, Longsight
- St Luke the Physician, Guide Post Square, Church of England, Longsight
- Dickenson Road, Church of God of Prophecy, Longsight
- Slade Lane, Church of God Seventh Day, Longsight
- Ivy Congregational, Stockport Road, Congregational, Longsight
- Roby, Dickenson Road, Congregational, Longsight
- Kingdom Hall, Redgate Lane, Jehovah's Witness, Longsight
- Linnet Close, Life Changing International Ministry, Longsight
- Matthews Lane, New Covenant Church, Longsight
- Stockport Road, Presbyterian, Longsight
- Beresford Road, Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day, Longsight
- St Joseph, Plymouth Grove, Roman Catholic, Longsight
- St Joseph's Home, Little Sisters of the Poor, Plymouth Grove West, Roman Catholic, Longsight
- St Richard, Sutcliffe Ave, Roman Catholic, Longsight
- St Robert, Hamilton Road, Roman Catholic, Longsight
- Intercession of the Holy Virgin, Clarence Road, Russian Orthodox Church, Longsight
- Birch Lane, Unitarian, Longsight
- Rushford St, United Church of God, Longsight
- College Chapel, Dickenson Road, United Methodist Free Church, Longsight
- North Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Longsight
- Stockport Road, Wesleyan Methodist, Longsight
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Kirkmanshulme area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Kirkmanshulme area is Manchester.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Kirkmanshulme which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Kirkmanshulme to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Kirkmanshulme was a township in the parish of Manchester.History
David Boardman provides a fascinating site describing the history of LongsightMaps
View maps of Kirkmanshulme and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ870959 (Lat/Lon: 53.459677, -2.197268), Kirkmanshulme which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic (Click + on map to view it)
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Kirkmanshulme was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

