Knotty Ash

Select map to view larger area
KNOTTY-ASH, a chapelry in Walton-on-the-Hill parish, Lancashire; ½ a mile N of Broad-Green r. station, and 4 E of Liverpool. It has a post office under Liverpool, and a police station. Pop. in 1861, about 1,800. The manor belongs to the Marquis of Salisbury. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Chester. Value, not reported.* Patrons, Trustees. The church is modern, in the later English style; and contains 900 sittings. There are national schools.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Liverpool library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Knotty Ash.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Knotty Ash area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Knotty Ash area is Liverpool.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Knotty Ash which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Knotty Ash to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Knotty Ash was a chapelry in the township of West Derby, in the parish of Walton on the Hill.

Maps

View maps of Knotty Ash and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ406913 (Lat/Lon: 53.415137, -2.895179), Knotty Ash which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Knotty Ash was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.