Knowsley
|
|
|
|
KNOWSLEY, a township-chapelry in Huyton parish, Lancashire; 2½ miles N by W of Huyton r. station, and 3 NW by W of Prescot. Post town, Prescot. Acres, 4, 750. Real property, £12,549; of which £1,367 are in mines, and £330 in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 1,486; in 1861, 1,349. Houses, 243. The property all belongs to the Earl of Derby. Knowsley Hall is the Earl's seat; has been enlarged from time to time: includes portions of the period of Henry VII.; was fully restored, by the tenth earl, before 1735; presents imposing fronts, surmounted by round towers; contains portraits of all the Stanleys, and a large and valuable collection of paintings by the old masters; and was visited, in November 1865, by the Prince and Princess of Wales. The grounds around it comprise upwards of 2,000 acres; are enclosed by a stone wall upwards of 8 feet high, pierced by thirteen entrances; and contain tasteful gardens, many ancient oaks, and ornamental waters nearly a mile long. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Chester. Value, £300.* Patron, the Earl of Derby. The church is recent, cruciform, and handsome; and has a W broach spire. There are national schools.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and Libraries
- Knowsley Libraries, in Huyton, Family History pages.
Cemeteries
- St Mary, Knowsley Lane, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Knowsley.Church History
Church Records
- St Mary, Knowsley Lane, Church of England
- St Jude, Round Hey, Church of England, Stockbridge Village
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Knowsley area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Knowsley area is Knowsley.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Knowsley which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Knowsley to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Knowsley was a township in the parish of Huyton.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
History
Some information about the history of Knowsley.Maps
View maps of Knowsley and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ435955 (Lat/Lon: 53.453205, -2.852307), Knowsley which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Knowsley was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

