Langho

Select map to view larger area
BILLINGTON-LANGHO, a township-chapelry in Blackburn parish, Lancashire; on the Blackburn and Clitheroe railway, 5½ miles NNE of Blackburn. It has a station, of the name of Langho, on the railway; and its Post Town is Whalley, under Blackburn. Acres, 2,960. Real property, 4,719. Pop., 1,038. Houses, 205. The inhabitants are chiefly cotton-weavers. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 120. Patron, the Vicar of Blackburn. The church is ancient. There are a Roman Catholic chapel, a national school, and charities 38.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Blackburn library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Langho.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Langho area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Langho area is Ribble Valley.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Langho which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Langho to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Langho was a chapelry in the township of Billington, in the parish of Blackburn.

Maps

View maps of Langho and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD705340 (Lat/Lon: 53.801456, -2.449395), Langho which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Langho was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.